Anita Payne Scholarship

Anita Payne Scholarship

The Anita Payne Scholarship was established in 2012 to help support the cost of travel and participation in the Frontiers in Reproduction (FIR) program. Supported by a grant from the Anita Payne Endowment Fund, the award has a value of $5,000 to help support the cost of travel and participation in the FIR program.

Frontiers on Reproduction 
Marine Biological Institute-Woods Hole, MA

Course director: Rafael A. Fissore, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.
Application Deadline: January 17, 2022
Course Dates: April 30-June 12, 2022

This is an intensive, mentored training program in animal and human reproductive biology designed to transmit the latest conceptual advances in the field and provide hands-on experience with techniques used in research labs and clinics. Topics covered include the hypothalamic-pituitary-gonadal axis; stem cells, gametogenesis, and fertilization; assisted reproductive technologies; reproductive tract development; placentation and implantation strategies across species. 


To be a qualified applicant, you must be:

  1. A current Trainee Member of SSR (dues are paid and mentor's signature is on file in the SSR Business Office by the deadline for FIR applications—January 17, 2022, and
  2. Accepted to participate in the FIR program.

Award Criteria

The Anita Payne Scholarship is awarded to the highest-ranking applicant admitted to FIR who is also an SSR Trainee Member.


No separate application is required for the Anita Payne Scholarship. Trainees can indicate their interest in applying for this award while completing the required supporting information for the FIR application.

Past Recipients

2023:Shweta Dipali, Cornell University, USA
2019: Christian Andersen, B.S., University of Georgia, USA
2018: Heather Talbott, PhD, Oregon Health and Sciences University, USA
2017: Andrew Kelleher, B.S., University of Missouri, USA
2016: Sophea Heng. Hudson Institute of Medical Research, Australia
2015: Alisa A. Suen. NIEHS, North Carolina, USA
2014: Rasmani Hazra. University of Sydney, Australia
2013: Raquel Gonzalez-Herrero, D.V.M., Ph.D. University of Calgary, Canada
2012: Yosi Aizen, Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin, Texas