such as uteroferrin, retinol-binding proteins as well as a uterine plasmin inhibitor that may contribute to the non-invasive nature of placentation of the porcine conceptus. As part of his continuing investigations on the regulation of oTP-1 and its homologue from cows. Dr. Roberts and his students have characterized the endometrial receptor for oTP-1 and identified a series of endometrial proteins that appear to be under regulation by oTP-1. Dr. Roberts has obtained cDNAs for both the ovine and bovine forms of TP-1 as well as uteroferrin and its serpinlike associated protein. With these molecular probes. Dr. Roberts has initiated studies to examine the mechanisms by which the synthesis of these proteins is regulated. It is clear that Dr. Roberts' talents as a biochemist and reproductive biologist have greatly expanded our understanding of the interactions between the uterus and the conceptus and have added new dimensions fundamental to questions in reproductive biology.

Dr. Roberts is a past recipient of a Research Career Development Award and currently serves on NIH and NSF peer review boards. He has served as Vice-chairman and Chairman of recent Gordon Conferences on Reproductive Tract Biology and has participated in many national and international symposia.

The recognition bestowed upon Drs. Bazer and Roberts by the awarding of this year's SSR Research Award is truly merited and serves to highlight the exponential rate of progress that can be made by the merging of the disciplines of physiology and molecular biology.

> Anthony J. Zeleznik, Chair 1990 SSR Awards Committee

## 1990 NEW INVESTIGATOR AWARD

The New Investigator Award is given by the Society to encourage meritorious science by our

young researchers. The first and second place awards are sponsored by Serono Symposia and consist of a plaque and a monetary award.

The recipient of the first place award is Suzanne M. Moenter for her abstract



"Does a preovulatory surge Of GnRH occur in the ewe?" Ms. Moenter received the B.S. degree in Agriculture from the University of Illinois in 1985 and the M.S. degree in Animal Sciences from the University of Illinois in 1986. She is currently a doctoral student in the Department of Physiology of the University of Michigan working with Dr. Fred J. Karsch and expects to receive the Ph.D. degree in 1991.

The recipient of the second place award is Dana GaddyKurten for her abstract "Alpha-2macroglobulin, a unique molecular marker of

prolactin action in rat granulosa cells and corpora lutea." Ms. Gaddy-Kurten received the B.S. degree in Biology and Chemistry from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock in 1980 and the M.S. degree in Zoology from Texas A&M University in 1985. She is



currently a doctoral student in the Department of Cell Biology of Baylor College of Medicine working with Dr. JoAnne S. Richards and expects to receive the Ph.D. degree in 1991.

> Anthony J. Zeleznik, Chair 1990 SSR Awards Committee