## 1990 CARL G. HARTMAN AWARD CHARLES A. BARRACLOUGH

The Carl G. Hartman Award is the highest award bestowed by the Society for the Study of Reproduction. It is presented in recognition of an outstanding career of

research and scholarly activities in the field of reproductive biology.

The 1990 recipient of the Carl G. Hartman Award is Dr. Charles A. Barraclough. Dr. Barraclough received the B.S. degree from St. Joseph's College in 1947, the M.S. degree from Rutgers University in 1952 and the Ph.D. degree in zoology from Rutgers in 1953 where he was a student of a previous



Hartman awardee, Dr. Jim Leatham. Following his postdoctoral research training with Dr. Charles H. Sawyer in the Department of Anatomy of UCLA, Dr. Barraclough spent the first eight years of his professional career as an instructor and assistant professor in the Department of Anatomy at UCLA Between 1961 and 1962, he was a Research Fellow at Cambridge University; in 1962, he joined his current institution, the University of Maryland School of Medicine, and earned the rank of Professor in the Department of Physiology in 1965. Dr. Barraclough has contributed with distinction to the graduate programs of the University of Maryland as the Director of Graduate Education in the Department of Physiology, the Director of the Training Program in Reproductive Biology, and Director of the Center for Studies in Reproduction of the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

Charlie, as he is known by his colleagues, has been and continues to be a pioneer and a leading investigator in the field of neuroendocrinology. In 1961 he made the seminal observation that a single injection of testosterone into neonatal female rats resulted in the "androgenization" of the hypothalamus such that the normal female pattern of cyclic gonadotropin secretion is lost and chronic anovulation ensues. The resultant concept of sexual dimorphism of the hypothalamus continues to this day to be an active and exciting field of research in neuroendocrinology as well as behavioral neurobiology. Equally important were his pioneering studies on the control of gonadotropin secretion in female rats which contributed to the identification of two modes of control of LH secretion by the hypothalamus: a cyclic control that is responsible for the preovulatory surge of LH and a tonic control of FSH and LH secretion that is

responsible for ovarian folliculogenesis and steroid secretion. In subsequent studies, Dr. Barraclough has continued his detailed investigations providing important and novel information such as the role of catecholamines and opiates on the control of gonadotropin secretion as well as the regulation of the differential secretion of FSH and LH. Dr. Barraclough's current research-the molecular actions of steroids on the synthesis of LHRH and enzymes involved in catecholamine metabolism-continues to be on the forefront of neuroendocrinology. It is not surprising that Dr. Barraclough's research accomplishments have earned him numerous distinctions including two invitations to speak at the Laurentian Hormone Conference as well as the 1984 SSR Research Award. He is a Fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science and an Honorary Member of the Hungarian Society of Endocrinology Metabolism.

Throughout his career, Dr. Barraclough has invested heavily in the training of scientists, having been the primary mentor for twenty-two postdoctoral, twelve Ph.D., and eleven M.S. students, many of whom have gone on to establish outstanding independent careers in research in the United States, Europe, Japan, and South America. Dr. Barraclough has served on editorial boards of several scientific journals, has served as chairman of the NIH Reproductive Biology Study Section, and has contributed significantly to the SSR through his work on the Board of Directors, the Program Committee and the Awards Committee.

The addition of Dr. Barraclough's name to the list of previous Carl G. Hartman Awardees is a fitting tribute to his outstanding career as a researcher, scholar, and teacher and is certain to add luster to this Award.

Anthony J. Zeleznik, Chair 1990 SSR Awards Committee