This award recognizes an active, regular member of the Society who has demonstrated unselfish service and leadership in advancing the discipline of reproductive biology. The letter of nomination should be accompanied by two supporting letters from other individuals. View the procedures for guidelines regarding the length of the nomination and supporting letters. 

Award Criteria

  1. Evidence of service to the discipline, such as organization of meetings, provision of reagents, participation in public advisory groups, contributions to public relations or communications with lay support groups, and related activities.
  2. Evidence of leadership positions in reproductive biology, such as offices in the Society for the Study of Reproduction and related organizations, editorial boards, and national and international review committees. 
  3. Evidence of training predoctoral and/or postdoctoral fellows in reproductive biology. Emphasis should be placed on trainees who have attained positions of leadership.
  4. Evidence of a productive career in research. Of particular importance are insights resulting from studies of the nominee that pioneered new areas of significant research in reproductive biology.

The deadline to submit a nomination has expired. The 2024 Major Awards will be announced in March 2024.

View previous SSR Jansen Distinguished Leadership and Service Award recipients below:

2023: Mark Mirando, Ph.D.
2022: Benjamin K. Tsang, Ph.D.
2021: Bernard Robaire, Ph.D.
2019:Sally Perreault Darney, Ph.D.
2018: Mary Ann Handel Ph.D.
2017: Jock Findlay, Ph.D.
2016: Asgerally Fazleabas, Ph.D.
2015: John R. McCarrey, Ph.D.
2014: Mary B. Zelinski, Ph.D.
2013: Mitch Eddy, Ph.D.
2012: Barbara M. Sanborn, Ph.D.
2011: Joy L. Pate, Ph.D.
2010: Robert C. Burghardt, Ph.D.

2009: Fredrick Stormshak, Ph.D.
2008: Joanne E. Fortune, Ph.D.
2007: Bruce D. Murphy, Ph.D.
2006: P. Landis Keyes, Ph.D.
2005: Virendra B. Mahesh, Ph.D.
2004: Anita H. Payne, Ph.D.
2003: E. Keith Inskeep, Ph.D.
2002: David W. Schomberg, Ph.D.
2001: Gordon D. Niswender, Ph.D., and Terry M. Nett, Ph.D.
2000: Fuller W. Bazer, Ph.D.
1999: Koji Yoshinaga, Ph.D.
1998: John A. Resko, Ph.D.

1997: Janice M. Bahr, Ph.D.
1996: Billy N. Day, Ph.D.
1995: Rupert P. Amann, Ph.D.
1994: Sheldon J. Segal, Ph.D.
1993: Noland VanDemark, Ph.D.
1992: Luigi Mastroianni Jr., M.D.
1991: William Hansel, Ph.D.
1990: Julia Lobotsky, Ph.D.
1989: Philip Dziuk, Ph.D.
1988: Gilbert S. Greenwald, Ph.D.
1987: Larry L. Ewing, Ph.D.
1986: Andrew V. Nalbandov, Ph.D.

Back to top